WHILE  the to and fro over the Pakatan Harapan leadership line-up is ongoing, PKR deputy president Azmin Ali insists that the point of the whole exercise is to set up a solid base for the opposition coalition and not merely about who is in charge.

He said discussions were still going on who would lead PH into the next general election.

“We need to polish some things up because we also need to ensure that all the discussions leading towards the 14th general election will go on smoothly.

“The structure of Pakatan Harapan is not just about posts, but also about all party preparations in regard to the manifestoes and seat allocations.

“I feel that since the discussions are going on well, we can settle this matter in the near future,” Azmin said at the Ampang Jaya Municipal Council Hari Raya event today.

However, the Selangor menteri besar declined to reveal when an announcement on the leadership line-up would be made.

“It’s still Hari Raya, so I think the senior leaders are still at their areas to be with the people.

“When the month of Syawal ends, we can reveal a clear structure and other matters related to the 14th General Election.”

Azmin insists that all members of parties in PH would have a role to play in the coming polls so that the opposition coalition could rally the support of the people.

On June 9, PH had delayed the announcing the line-up of its presidential council, which was required for it to register as a coalition with the Registrar of Societies.

Opposition leaders had said an announcement would be made before Hari Raya, but no developments have been seen since then.

It was reported that the structure and line-up of the council had come into dispute.

Initially PH leaders had agreed that Dr Mahathir Mohamad and Anwar Ibrahim would become advisers while Dr Wan Azizah would be chairman.

But Dr Mahathir’s Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia proposed that  Anwar would be the de facto leader of PH,  just like in PKR, while Dr Mahathir would become chairman and PKR president Dr Wan Azizah Ismail will be president.

Muhyiddin Yassin (Bersatu), Mohamad Sabu (Amanah) dan Lim Guan Eng (DAP secretary-general) were appointed as deputy presidents, while Mohamed Azmin Ali (PKR), Mukhriz Mahathir (Bersatu), Salahudin Ayub (Amanah) and Tan Kok Wai (DAP) would be vice-presidents.