PETALING JAYA – Sime Darby Bhd announced that effective December 1, the group will be helmed by a new board and senior leadership after the listing of its plantation and property units on November 30.

The conglomerate said in a statement that the leaner Sime Darby Bhd will focus mainly on its trading businesses in the motor and heavy equipment sectors, as well as logistics and healthcare.

The new board will comprise 11 directors, majority of whom will be independent non-executive directors.

The new chairman is Tan Sri Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah while Jeffri Salim Davidson is group CEO. Other board members are Tan Sri Samsudin Osman, Datin Paduka Kartini Abdul Manaf, Datuk Seri Lim Haw Kuang, Datuk Wan Selamah Wan Sulaiman, Tan Sri Mohamed Azman Yahya, Datuk Ahmad Pardas Senin, Datuk Seri Abdul Hamidy Abdul Hafiz and Thayaparan Sangara Pillai.

“This is a distinguished line up of individuals who will be able to take Sime Darby forward into the future,” said current Sime Darby Bhd chairman Tan Sri Abdul Ghani Othman.

“The board and the senior management have, between them, the years of experience and expertise necessary to take the trading and logistics businesses to the next level,” he added.

Sime Darby Bhd said the announcement of an additional board member will be made soon.

– http://www.thesundaily.my/